Naan-chos, please!

Hey!

Sorry about the late post today! To be honest, my family didn’t really get around to eating until about an hour ago when dinner was made. Just one of those kind of days, ya know?

We had some left over chicken along with some fresh produce in the fridge just begging to brought to life and some fresh naan that was purchased today in need to use right away. I also am a huge fan of ‘The Great Food Truck Race’ on Food Network, where a new team called ‘Tikka Tikka Taco’ serves Indian fusion food, including these wonderful Mediterranean style nachos. Instead of using tortilla chips, they used chopped up naan bread and called them “naan-chos.” So I made…

Exactly that! I threw all my produce and chicken on top of my toasted naan and topped it with some tahini sauce and feta and it was delightful! Here’s what you’ll need:

1 pack of 2 naan breads

2 cups arugula

1/2 medium cucumber

1 medium tomato

1/2 medium red bell pepper

6-7 artichoke hearts

Any amount of leftover protein (I used some seared chicken) 

4-6 kalamata olives

1/4 c feta

2 tbsp tahini 

Image

 

So let’s get started. First I laid out the two naan breads –

Image

 

Then I cut them up and put them on a baking sheet with some olive oil on top to broil to a crisp for your “chip” in nachos –

Image

 

Image

Great! Now let that take care of itself while you turn to your produce. 

I chopped up my cucumber, tomatoes, and bell pepper and made this neat little pile of yummy –

Image

 

Awesome! Next chop up your protein, which in my case is the chicken. I seared it yesterday with olive oil and some basic herbs and it was perfect today so why not use it?

ImageNow… chop, chop, chop!

Image

 

And push that aside while you slice your artichoke hearts and kalamata olives. Tasty!

Image

 

Image

 

And by now, the toasted naan should be ready! Lay those “chips” out on a large platter or serving plate of the sort –

Image

 

I started with some arugula on top of my chips – 

Image

 

And then my fresh veggies followed –

Image

 

And next came the chopped chicken –

Image

 

Followed by the artichoke hearts –

Image

And the kalamata olives –

Image

And then some tahini! We got this from the Babylon Market, a local Middle Eastern shop and it’s absolutely to die for. I have to learn how to make it!

Image

 

And last but certainly not least, my favorite part, the feta –

Image

 

And…

ImageThere you have it! Naan-chos! I know Mediterranean or Greek-style nachos are now a huge hit almost everywhere, but Tikka Tikka Taco’s take on them with the naan bread as opposed to pita really caught my attention and my family’s taste buds. 

I’m sufficiently stuffed and now I’ll allow myself to slip into a small food coma for the night. 

Enjoy!

TS~

 

One thought on “Naan-chos, please!

Leave a Reply

