Pass the Pasta (Salad)

Good afternoon!

Man, I’ve been busy this week! I’ve been going through all of my college/dorm stuff and inventorying everything in order to be a prepped traveler come my departure date in just three weeks. And this was my breakfast –

Image

A delicious fruit salad! But after a few hours of hard work making piles and lists, the fruit barely tied me over. So by lunchtime, I’m hungry! I’m happy to report that I’m still going strong on my Mediterranean diet, and have lost two pounds since starting (success!). So I decided upon…

Med pasta salad! As you guys may have noticed, lots of Mediterranean dishes use similar or identical ingredients, so this time I threw the usual suspects in with some cooked noodles and it was very satisfying! Here’s what you’ll need:

2 cups uncooked pasta, any kind

1/2 medium sized cucumber

1/2 medium avocado

1 tomato

1 red bell pepper

5-6 artichoke hearts

1/4 c feta cheese

Optional: pepperocinis to taste

Image

 

First off, can we talk about that pepper? Isn’t it too funny? Sorry, food amuses me.

So start off by boiling your pasta water and make sure that some olive oil is in there to keep the noodles from sticking together – 

Image

 

Once it boils, put your pasta in and let it do it’s thing. Mine took 8 minutes to cook – 

Image

 

By the way, I wanted to show you guys my “hot mitt” that I was given for Christmas this past year –

Image

This is Franz the Froggy, who helps me cook. I get lonely in the kitchen…

Now that your pasta is cooking, turn to your veggies and start chopping away!

I started with my cucumbers and sliced and quartered them –

Image

Then I diced my tomatoes (here’s our last garden grown one of the season!) –Image

 I also diced my avocado, using that nifty trick where you cut it in the skin and use a spoon to scoop out perfect diced pieces – 

Image

 

Then my red bell pepper was chopped up as well –

Image

 

And the last thing I had time to chop before the pasta was ready, those artichoke hearts –

Image

 

Uhh, YUM!

Before tending to my pasta, I marveled at my beautiful produce. Here’s a peak –

Image

 

Too pretty. Noms!

Next, I drain my pasta and put it in a stainless steel bowl, ready to mix –

Image

 

Now here’s a fun portion of the dish – throw all the veggies in on top!

Image

 

Ahh, perfection! But not quite yet…

I, of course, add in some pepperocinis –

Image

 

And next, that goes in with some of my favorite, feta cheese –

Image

 

Then, I mixed it all up and…

Image

 

Voila! A gorgeous Med pasta salad! 

I enjoyed mine with some strawberry lemonade this afternoon, and couldn’t help going back for seconds.. Hehe!

Image

Enjoy!

TS~

Leave a Reply

