Greek meat

Good evening!

Today was a hot one! Got up to around 98 degrees at the peak of the day, and eating anything more than a simple salad all day was not appetizing. Until tonight! The fam bam decided that burgers were going to be consumer, but being on my new regiment of eating, I wanted to make them Med somehow. So I came up with…

Greek burgers! This can sound along the lines of a burger composed of lamb meat (heck, that’s what my mom thought I meant) but it’s much easier than that. I made my burgers Med by putting them in pita pockets with homemade tzatziki and goat cheese on top! Here’s what you’ll need:

About 1 lb ground beef (we bought ground chuck this time)

4 1 oz slices of goat cheese

2 pita pockets

1 container plain Greek yogurt

1/2 c sour cream

1 small lemon

1 tsp crushed garlic

Summer squash (I used 2 Mediterranean squash, 1 yellow squash, and 1 zucchini)

1 bag mixed greens

Various spicing (basil, 21 Seasoning Salute, and dill)

Sliced avocado

Image

 

Start by dividing your meat up. I open up my pack of ground chuck to admire –

Image

 

And I use a knife to cut it into four sections, for my four patties. Portions, portions!

Image

 

Then you take each portion and form them into your patties to cook eventually. Mine look like this –

Image

 

Beautiful! Now I spice them. I turn to my trusty friends dried basil –

Image

 

And 21 Seasoning Salute –

Image

 

Delicious! Now set those guys aside until you’re ready to cook them at the very end.

The next step is to make the homemade tzatziki dip. A fun word, and a fun dip/spread/stand alone food. Nom!

Start with your container of Greek yogurt –

Image

 

And then add in your sour cream to balance the tartness from the yogurt – 

Image

 

Next, add some of that garlic. It’s going to be pungent, so get ready!

Image

 

And then add your spicing in – there’s that basil and 21 again! This time, also add in some dill –

Image

 

And finally, add some lemon juice from a small lemon. Squeeze away –

Image

 

Now mix it allll up –

Image

 

And ta-da! Fresh, homemade tzatziki. BONUS: Add some sliced cucumber in there to add body –

Image

 

Now set that aside, as well. That’s for dressing burgers!

Slice your veggies, as your saw I used all summer squash, and prep them to be satueed – 

Image

 

Then toss them in a heated skillet with hot olive oil and cook until browned –

Image

 

Now it’s time to cook those babies! Heat your giant pan for them and put them in when appropriate –

Image

 

While those cook, I prep the burgers. I sliced each pita pocket in two for all four of us in order to not overdose on bread. Been there, ya know? 

Image

 

Then I put my tzatziki in the pocket –

Image

 

Next, I sliced up an avocado and put it in the pocket, too –

Image

 

Image

 

Next thing I know, my burgers are browned and beautiful! Check them out –

Image

 

So I slice the goat cheese –

Image

 

And top the burgers!

Image

 

Ahhh, so pretty! That is my last thing to go into the pocket –

Image

 

And then I’m ready to plate it, satueed veggies and all –

Image

Such amazing burgers! Truly Med and fantastic ingredients. I fell in love… with a burger. Yikes.

We’ll see what this weekend brings as far as food is concerned! Stayed tuned…

Enjoy!

TS~

Leave a Reply

