Old ingredients make great new ones!

Good evening!

Apologies for the late post, but I promised a post everyday and I’m coming through on it!

So tonight I was going through the fridge and found that there were some ingredients in there that were in dire need of being used. For example, my beautiful basil from the farmers market so long ago? That held up until tonight! And I decided to use it in…

A pesto chicken pizza! I’ve made homemade pesto before, but never with two kinds of basil – that’s right, my homegrown basil revived itself! And with some leftover chicken from Monday night, this pizza was a fabulous summer treat. Here’s what you’ll need:

Pizza dough (I bought the whole wheat kind from Whole Foods)

About 40 basil leaves

1/3 c olive oil

1/2 tsp garlic 

Cherry tomatoes

Asparagus

1 c cheese (I used Babybel Baby Swiss, mozzarella, and Parmesan)

Optional: chopped chicken and arugula

Image

 

Start with the dough. I floured my surface (lightly!) –

Image

 

And plopped the dough ball right on it –

Image

 

And simply flatten it, flipping it over to cover both sides completely –

Image

 

Great! Now and begin to stretch it out to lay on the pan. I like to lay it on my fists like so –

Image

 

Here’s a cool shot of me tossing the dough (I think I’m cooler than I actually am) –

 

 

Image And once it’s stretched enough to fit your desired pan, let it lay on your pan. If needby, stretch it further with your hands –

 Image

Now drizzle it with olive oil a bit to initially bake. I always find that I have to do this because if I just bake it raw with my pizza ingredients on top that the crust always takes longer and my toppings get spoiled 😦 –

Image

 

So pop that in a pre-heated oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes, watching it, before you can top it. 

While that cooks, start with your pesto! I used my trusty Magic Bullet –

Image

 

There’s no way this thing isn’t going to college with me! So start out with your basil leaves in your cup or food processor –

Image

 

Then add your olive oil (a 1/3 cup is a lot, be warned!) –

Image

 

Once you’ve got all of that in there, add in your garlic –

Image

 

And then you’re ready to go! Pulse that baby up –

Image

 

And then your finished product should look like this –

Image

 

Yummmmmmmmmmy. Ugh it looks so good!

So by this time my dough was ready –

Image

 

And now you can top the semi-cooked crust with your pesto –

Image

 

I used my little yellow spatula that I love so much to spread the pesto love!

Image

 

Next, I topped my pesto with some arugula to add some (more) greenery to the pie –

Image

 

Next, I started getting my other toppings together. First, my cherry tomatoes were halved –

Image

 

And then I par-cooked my asparagus on my microwave’s “Fresh Vegetable” cycle –

Image

 

And once it was done, I chopped it up, too –

Image

 

And then my leftover chicken was sliced up –

Image

 

And finally, my cheese topped the pizza –

Image

 

Here’s how my pie looked going into the oven –

Image

 

Nom! I just popped that back into the oven at 350 again for another 10 minutes before it came out looking like this –

Image

 

BEAUTIFUL! What a pretty, pretty pizza! Close-up time –

Image

 

Ohh man, was it good! Patrick came over to enjoy this delight and also stepped in as my guest food photographer tonight, so all credit goes to him! Here’s how we enjoyed dinner –

Image

 

With a generous heaping of fresh melon and some iced tea, this dinner was amazing!

There may or may not be a Tahoe trip in the cards for Heidi and I tomorrow, but if there is, you can expect a meal or two from up there!

Enjoy!

TS~

Leave a Reply

