Feeling hot, hot, hot

Good afternoon!

This break in the weather has been glorious. A high of say 90 degrees around here is wonderful! So if I want heat, I gotta put it in the food. And last night’s mini burger mania was full of the fantastic finds from the farmers market. So we had…

Salsa burgers and spicy fries! It was my first time making salsa homemade, and it went quite well! I also made some awesome fries out of russet potatoes and they were tasty. Here’s what you’ll need:

A pack of mini burgers, or fresh ground meat

Burger buns

6 tb shredded cheese

Desired condiments

1/4 c chopped red onion

1/4 c chopped tomato

1/4 c chopped jalapeno

1/4 c quartered cherry tomatoes

4 russet potatoes

Desired seasoning

Image

Start off with the potatoes, because those take the longest!

Image

Start by washing them, which is where this guy comes in handy –

Image

My little potato scrubber! Isn’t he adorable? To be honest, he’s not very good at his job, but he’s too cute I had to get him. I pretend that I frequently use him.

After they’re washed, I put them here to dry –

Image

This drying mat just for veggies! My mom got it for me to reduce cross contamination – I love it!

Now that they’re dry, chop them in half –

Image

Then proceed to dice it. The cuts should be both length and width wise like so –

Image

Image

See how you get short fries out of it? That’s perfect! Now you can par-cook them in the microwave if you want, it will make the baking time a lot less shorter. I did mine for 2 minutes.

Next, put them in a bowl to be prepped –

Image

Now drizzle in some olive oil –

Image

And then throw in your seasoning. I used 21 Seasoning Salute and a dash of cayenne pepper. Nom –

Image

Now toss it all around to coat everything evenly –

Image

Beautiful! Put it right on your baking dish and toss it in the oven for about 30 minutes at 400 degrees –

Image

Great! Now let’s get going on the salsa.

Start with your ingredients –

Image

There’s that red onion and those cherry tomatoes from the farmers market! Hooray! Add that and some jalapeno and large red tomato and that’s my homemade salsa.

Chop up everything you’ve got. The cherry tomatoes, quartered –

Image

The red onion –

Image

The jalapeno –

Image

And that red tomato –

Image

Now throw it all together into a bowl and let everything get comfortable together –

Image

I love the colors coming together like this. It’s beautiful! Ahh makes me wish I had a professional camera to take quality pictures of this kind of stuff!

Now that that’s taken care of too, let’s get to the star of the show, THE BURGERS!

You guys have seen me do this, so you know how this goes. Take a look at those patties (unless you bought regular ground beef, and then just form your own patties) –

Image

And season them however you like –

Image

 

And throw them into a hot pan ready to cook!

photo 3 (83)

 

And then cooking them goes as usual – quite quick!

photo 4 (78)

 

Ahh wonderful! Now I admit, this next part got going too fast in my kitchen because of my excitement, so not too many pictures are to show. Bare with me!

Here are my finished products: the baked spicy fries, which I topped with Tabasco –

photo 2 (92)

 

And my salsa burger, topped with cheese, sitting on a bed of lettuce, and dressed in it’s salsa finest!

photo 1 (94)

 

And my plate for the meal, garnished with pepperochinis because there wasn’t enough spice 😉

photo 5 (68)

 

NOM! It was so amazing, and so satisfying! To make my night even better, this was my dessert –

photo 3 (86)

 

Freshly popped popcorn, mini marshmallows, chocolate chips, and peanuts! I was more than content with my day’s eatings.

We’ll see what else comes from the bounty of the farmers market, huh? Make sure to check back in!

Enjoy!

TS~

 

Leave a Reply

