Days and foods on end

Happy Fourth to all!

On this day of classic American celebration, I want to just start by thanking all servicemen and women, veterans, and those related to them for all of their service and dedication to this great nation. Coming from a family of military members, it means a lot to me. It is much appreciated!

So this week has been busy, hot, crazy, and full of food! Unfortunately, I have neglected to post any of it, until now! So here are the highlighted meals of my week, starting on Sunday morning:

So I’ve become a bit obsessed with mug cakes. YOU’VE BEEN WARNED! With that said, here’s the first of several I’ve eaten in the past week –

Image

 

Remember my oatmeal mug cake recipe from Friday? Here’s a banana and chocolate chip one! It was scrumptious! I always have mine with almond milk to wash down my gooey yummy cake breakfast (which is healthy, a bonus!) I put my chocolate chips on as soon as it comes out of the microwave so they get nice and melty. Mmm!

That night, our dinner took a spicy turn –

Image

 

Warmed corn tortillas, green and purple cabbage, fresh corn, black beans, cherry tomatoes, sour cream, Tabasco salsa (I’ll get to that in a minute!), and my grilled shrimp! I seasoned my shrimp and let it sit for a good half hour before I throw it on the grill. Only takes about 10 minutes for it to become beautiful and ready to top your taco! Now for that Tabasco salsa… OHH MAN! It was amazing! Heidi has a friend down in SLO whose father works to bottle and distribute Tabasco and gave Heidi some goodies recently. She passed the items along to me, and I got to try out that great Chipotle Salsa and I loved it! Even my mom, who can only handle so much spice, couldn’t get enough!

I’ll have you know that yes, this Monday morning I had another mug cake. This time was peanut butter, banana, and almond. Sooo tasty!

So come Monday morning, the weather was predicted to be 105 and I was cooking for my clients a little barbecue. I knew by the time I got home from work at 12:30 it was going to way to late in the game to try and grill then. So I got up earlier than usual to grill some barbecue chicken, zucchini, and squash!

Image

 

My veggies were seasoned with 21 Seasoning Salute and my chicken was covered with my blend of barbecue sauces that I’ve shown before. And this is what the clients received that day –

Image

 

A bed of sauteed veggies, fresh corn and black beans, barbecue sauce-covered cauliflower, that gorgeous (isn’t it?) chicken, and avocado on top! I was told by one client that this was the most beautiful of my dishes I’ve made now. Thanks, clients!

We had the same meal for dinner, and here was my portion –

Image

 

I drizzled mine with a little bit more barbecue sauce (hehe!) and some Arnold Palmer, made with pomegranate raspberry green tea. Yummy!

Tuesday morning meant another mug cake. It’s bad, I know – 

Image

 

This little guy had fresh apples, blackberries, raspberries, and almonds. It was so very satisfying! Always is 😉

Another long, hot day ensued, but by Tuesday night when I got home from work, gym, and work again, a miracle happened: a wonderful, cooling breeze! Hallelujah! So Mama, Papa, and I took our dinner outdoors to enjoy this surprising change in weather –

Image

 

So let’s look at that salad there –

Image

 

A nummy Greek salad with some tomatoes, red peppers, cucumbers, red onion, avocado, feta, pepperochinis, and quinoa. The smallest portion can keep you full forever! Mama and I enjoyed this while Papa had some foods he had from the German deli within our home vicinity –

Image

 

Radishes, German bread, and a rich sausage called gelbwurst. Very filling and tasty!

Wednesday afternoon when I got home from work, I was starved! That morning, I had split a mug cake (so tragic!) with my mother –

Image

 

I’m kidding! Still very good (had the berry, apple, and almond variety today), but I was ready to eat when I got back! So this was on the docket –

Image

 

A very big lunch! A small apple, some watermelon (I’m such a fiend), a ton of edamame (my favorite protein snack!), and a BIIIIIIG sandwich! Let’s get a closer look –

Image

 

That’s a gorgeous sandwich. A semmel roll (from the German deli! My favorite bread in the entire world and it’s hard to find in America, let alone made correctly. Struggles!), with avocado on one half, mayo and sweet mustard on the other, holding together cucumbers, tomatoes, pepperochinis, and leftover barbecue chicken! It took me a while to eat everything, but I eventually did and man I was one happy camper.

After my big lunch, I had a light dinner but indulged on dessert –

Image

 

S’MORES! What’s summer without them, amiright? We didn’t have larger marshmallows so I had to make do with the littles. I actually used the toaster oven on its broil setting to get this beautiful crisp on the sugar bombs and the graham cracker stayed crunchy while making the chocolate chips and mini M&Ms perfectly melty. Such a treat!

This was the perfect thing to have right before my night out. I went to the drive ins with Patrick to see Despicable Me 2 because well…

Image

 

I’m obsessed. And also I act like I’m 10 years younger than I am. I think I was the most excited child in the entire place. Hehehe!

Well tomorrow you’ll get to see some of my stuff from today’s feast scheduled for later. Until then, have a Happy and Safe Fourth of July!

Enjoy!

TS~

Leave a Reply

