Oats for the meal!

Good morning! 

These mornings that I’ve been up early for work, I have found myself wanting bigger and more protein dense meals to get me going through the shift – I’m there every morning until 12:30! So what’s a better solution than…

Oatmeal mug cake! This is a fun meal to make and something easy to prep within minutes. Also very versatile to add in different ingredients and toppings. What’s better?

Here’s what you’ll need:

1/2 c oats

1 egg

A splash of milk (I used almond milk)

Any spicing you want (my oatmeal pack had cinnamon and spice)

Any toppings you want (today I used berries and Nutella!)

Image

 

If you guys haven’t picked up on this, I love oatmeal. It sticks to the ribs, and can be used in a million ways! This being on of my favorite.

Start with your microwavable mug of choice –

Image

 

Mine is from Sally Loo’s in San Luis Obispo. Now put in your oats and spicing –

Image

 

And crack in your egg and put in your splash of milk –

ImageImage

 

Perfect! Now’s the time to add in your choice of toppings. I chose berries today so I washed my strawberries, blackberries, and raspberries –

Image

 

Then I sliced them up –

Image

 

And threw them in right on top. Very berry dense, yummy!

Image

 

Take a fork and mix it all in , making sure the oats, egg, and milk combines well –

Image

Beautiful! Now microwave it for 2 minutes.

And here comes the fun part! It slides right out of the mug perfectly onto your plate, like so –

Image

As you can see, I was too impatient and topped it with my Nutella already! Yum!

For my breakfast, I put a few more berries on top and TA-DA! Oatmeal mug cake –

Image

Delicious! I had this wonderful creation this morning at about 8:15 am and I’ve been full since! I’m just NOW getting hungry for lunch. But what to have…

Enjoy!

TS~ 

Leave a Reply

