More than mush

Good morning!

First off, I wanted to show off the awesome grad gift I got from my best friend yesterday –

Image

 

A beautiful apron and an item from my wish list – a SILPAT! She IS my best friend! Who else would know to get me kitchen items for going away to school? This, this is a true friend.

I’m feeling especially energized this morning for some reason. I went line dancing last night at Toby Keith’s in Folsom and it was an absolute blast! And although you would think I would be exhausted from that, I went ahead with my 6 am workout this morning and I think that really got me going. This morning’s class felt much more rewarding afterwards – maybe my legs are getting stronger, line dancing and spinning combined!

So I wanted to keep this fun energy going with a protein filled breakfast. Therefore, we have…

Oatmeal Cups! I love baking oatmeal, it puts the dish somewhere between the cooked delight and a baked cookie, and I can dig. This recipe is easy and quick. They can even be made ahead of time and heated up later.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 cups oats

1/4 ts salt

1 ts baking powder

1/2 cup honey

2 eggs

3/4 c milk

1 stick + 2 tb melted butter

1/4 c chocolate chips
 
Optional: chopped pecans for topping
 
Image
 
 
See? Few ingredients and its so yummy!
 
So start off by measuring out those oats –
Image
 
You’ll notice that my ingredients seem small in scale, and that’s because I’m quatering the recipe today. I usually would make more if Heidi were home but my mom and I don’t need extras lying around, tempting us.
 
Then add the baking powder and salt –
Image
 
 
Image
 
 
And give that a quick stir to combine everything well –
Image
 
Now for the honey. Real quick, can we just admire this –
Image
 
Our cute little honey pot. Awww! My mom found it at Apple Hill a few years back and I just adore it. Hehe!
 
Now measure and add that sticky stuff in –
Image
 
Give it a quick stir until it becomes a chunky mix –
Image
 
 
Now add the egg, milk, and melted butter –
Image
 
Now mix! I’ll warn you, it will be thin and soupy, but it’s supposed to be. That’s why I use this little rubber spatula, because it perfectly scraps the side and helps to scoop it in.
 
Now add the chocolate chips – more or less on the amount –
Image
 
Now scoop them into muffin tins either coated with cooking spray or ones lined with muffin wrappers. I have these nifty silicon cups that I can use again and again, so I use those –
Image
Nom! Now I chopped about a quarter cup of pecans just for topping (like I said optional), and threw those on top –
Image
 
Now bake for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees, give or take a minute or two when you look at them. They should look like this coming out –
Image
 
See? A little bit more brown on the edges? Nice! This was how I enjoyed mine this morning –
Image
 
With some vanilla flavored almond milk, sliced banana, and watermelon! 
 
Lots of protein goodness to kickstart your energy for the day, or, in my case, keep it going!
 
Enjoy!
 
TS~ 
Leave a Reply

