Beef (or pork) up your salad

Hi hi!

Much better weather today – about 25 degrees cooler with a lovely breeze that felt like heaven. Love it!

So today I had a light breakfast and lunch and decided I wanted to keep dinner that way as well but my tummy grumbled. I need substance. So what better than…

Bacon Parmesan and tomato salad! Get some protein and fat in there to stick to the bones and keep it light enough. Perfection!

Here’s what you’ll need:

A bag of salad greens

2-3 tomatoes

1/2 medium cucumber

2 long carrots

1/2 cup Parmesan

2 slices of bacon

1/2 tbsp pesto

3 tbsp olive oil

3 dashes spicing (I used 21 Seasoning Salute)

Image

 

Start with that bacon. Chop it up –

Image

 

And place it in a large skillet – 

Image

 

Slowly heat it and flip when you find it necessary –

Image

 

Nice! You can see it start to crisp, and that’s why heating it slowly is integral.If it’s heated too quickly, it can burn and nothing smells worse than burnt bacon.

Now once it’s all done, put it on a plate with a paper towel to absorb excess grease- 

Image

 

Next, line a small baking dish with parchment or foil like so –

Image

 

Then once the bacon has cooled, scatter it (closely together) on the foil –

Image

 

Next, measure out the 1/2 cup of Parmesan and sprinkle it over the bacon –

Image

 

Make sure that the cheese is completely blanketed over the bacon – 

Image

 

Bake it for 400 degrees for 4-6 minutes until it is crisp and bubbly.

Now for the salad portion! Address those vegetables – 

Image

 

Beautiful! And make that dressing. Take your 1/2 tablespoon of pesto, 3 tablespoons of olive oil, and dashes of spicing and combine until you like the tasting. I like my somewhat diluted pesto with extra spices! 

Image

 

Nom… Now check on that cheese and bacon to make sure it’s not burning. This is how mine looked –

Image

 

How awesome does that look guys? I’m loving how it smells too! Yum!

And for the salad assembly. Start with your bed of salad mix and those cucumbers, tomatoes, and carrots – 

Image

 

Now give a toss of the dressing on top and repeat the salad layer of mix and veggies before the fun part comes. 

Break up the Parmesan-bacon with a fork –

Image

 

And scatter those pieces throughout the salad. Top it off once more with the dressing and you’ve got yourself a tasty, Parmesan bacon and tomato salad!

I had mine with some watermelon punch –

Image

 

Sooo good. Mmmmm! 

Hopefully this wonderful break from the heat sticks around. I’ve got some great recipes up my sleeve for the week before my trip to San Luis Obsipo for my Heidi’s college graduation! There I show you some real treats – from my recipes to the infamous Thursday Night Farmers’ Market to more wonderful foodie finds. Can’t wait!

Enjoy!

TS~

One thought on “Beef (or pork) up your salad

  1. Dude.. I am not much into reading, but somehow I got to read lots of articles on your blog. Its amazing how interesting it is for me to visit you very often. –

Leave a Reply

