It’s too hot for full meals

Hi guys.

Currently, I’m melting. All indicators of temperature tell me it’s well over 100 degrees (106, but hey, who’s counting?) and it’s too hot for this nonsense. I beat the high 90’s heat earlier today but going to the river with my wonderful boyfriend –

Image

I live in the part of Sacramento called Arden, which is right along the American River (my high school was Rio Americano, ha!) and therefore access to this cooling getaway on these kind of days are a plenty! Here’s us –

Image

My tan is put to shame by his, don’t ya think?

But by the time we left around 2 pm, it was close to 99 and we were toast. The cool fresh water was not enough to help us survive this Sacramento heat wave. But this helped –

Image

Homemade frozen bananas – YUM. I’ll show you how to make those another day though.

But my point – it is too hot, sweltering, if I may, for full meals at this point. So please forgive me when I give a light and refreshing snack recipe today. It sure is wonderful, and the other component of food I tolerated today.

Cream cheese cucumber bites! Nummmy! Here’s what you’ll need:

8-10 cucumber slices (depending on how much spread you want on one slice)

1/4 whipped cream cheese

6 sprigs of parsley

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 dashes of spicing (I used 21 Seasoning Salute)

Image

As you can see, this is a snack for one or two, but can easily be doubled, tripled, if not more for larger crowds.

First, put your cream cheese in a small, workable bowl. I used a ramekin –

Image

Next, chop and put the parsley. Then put that into the cream cheese along with the spicing and lemon juice –

Image

Mix and set the mixture aside.

Now onto the veggie; slice your cucumber thick enough to hold a spread, but still thin enough to be desirable –

Image

Now put that spread right on top and add another sprig of parsley to dress it up if you want –

Image

There you go! Beat the heat and be healthy 😉 nice!

This warm weather is supposed to continue on and into the weekend with triple digit degrees, so let’s bring it on! Expect more light meals and lots of sass (sorry about that).

Enjoy!

TS~

Leave a Reply

