Launch Party!

Today was the day – my (belated) Launch Party for my blog! And in honor of that, I cleaned my kitchen until it was sparkling –

Image

Looks good, don’t ya think? To be honest, nothing looks better than clean stainless steel to me. But I’m a weirdo like that…

So for the menu! Today I made:

-A simple herb flat bread (see recipe below)

-Chicken and cheese enchilada boats (see recipe below)

-My homemade mac and cheese

-And a marbled sweet and salty bark!

As you can see, I’m only giving two recipes today, but I’m including many pictures so don’t worry – you’ll see everything!

Let’s start with that flat bread: here’s what you’ll need –

Pizza dough, store bought or homemade (I bought today – no time to make!)

1/2 cup Parmesan

1 tsp garlic

1/4 cup olive oil

Various herbs (I used Freeze Dried Basil and 21 Seasoning Salute)

Image

Start by preheating the oven to 350 degrees. Now stretch out that dough for whatever baking sheet you’re prepared to use – a childhood dream we’ve all had at one point or another –

Image

I just get to follow it every time I make homemade pizza… Hehe! So now that you’ve got that prepared, set it aside and deal with the toppings. Take the olive oil and put it in something you can mix in. I used a small 1 cup ramekin –

Image

Now throw in the herbs and garlic; this will be your flat bread’s base –

Image

Give that a quick mix and then take a brush and put it right onto that dough –

Image

Beautiful! And then the crust should be finished up –

Image

Finish it off with the cheese, and the final product looks like this –

Image

Then it goes into the oven for about 16-20 minutes, checking to see if the bottom of the flat bread is golden. Once it is, the bread is done.

Now onto the enchilada boats. These are delicious! Instead of making the enchiladas inside tortillas, they go inside of zucchini! Brilliant! Here’s what you’ll use:

4 zucchinis, cut lengthwise

1 red bell pepper

1 jalapeno

1 cup cheese (I used a cheddar and Monterey blend)

1/2 cup green enchilada sauce

2 chicken breasts

Image

First, I poach my chicken in order to keep it perfectly moist and help it shred easily. I throw it in a saucepan with a few cups of water and a packet of vegetable broth –

Image

When you don’t have the time to use the crockpot or slow cooker to shred it, this is very handy! It goes about 15-20 minutes depending on the breast size. Until then, work on the boats.

Cut the zucchini lengthwise like so –

photo 4 (10)

And then with a melon baller or small metal spoon, scoop out the flesh like so –

Image

To be honest, I put all the flesh in a container and eat it later. It’s so yummy and filling!

So once the chicken is done, pull it out and shred it. I use a pair of tongs and a fork to get the beautiful pieces you want –

Image

That’s what we want, right? YUM! Once that’s all pulled and shredded, turn to the bell pepper and jalapeno.

Chop those up to mix right in with the cheese and chicken –

Image

By now you guys know I like the heat 😉

Image

Sweet bell peppers.. I used to take these whole to school and eat them in elementary school. Yeah, I was THAT kid. They add the perfect crunch and sweetness to the dish to balance the savory chicken and enchilada sauce and spice from the jalapeno. What more do you want?

So now I throw it all in the bowl with the chicken and add the cheese on top –

Image

Now mix it up and take the tongs to put it in each enchilada boat –

Image

So easy! Then top with that enchilada sauce and more cheese –

Image

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes, followed by 7 minutes on a high broil to get a nice crisp on that cheese and allow to cool. Then cut into bites and serve!

Image

AMAZING! These were a huge hit among my friends. I’ve made them before for a small dinner party where they were also a success. They make you forget all about tortillas!

I apologize that I won’t be including my mac and cheese (a real favorite) and marbled bark recipes today, but rest assured that they will come your way soon enough! Here’s some pictures to show I’m really sorry –

Image

Image

Such a good day! I’d like to thank everyone who came to my Launch Party in support of this blog and my food endeavors. You guys are awesome!

Don’t forget, you can always order from me or hire to cater for small events at my business email:

tsfd47981@gmail.com

Thanks to all! Enjoy!

TS~

Leave a Reply

